Cornering…

Today I had the last of my fifteen radiotherapy zappings. My skin is a bit sore and the muscle is now very sore. Although the actual zapping has finished, the radiotherapy still works for a couple more weeks so all this soreness will get a little worse before it gets better. I was told today that I will feel tired and unwell for a few months…pffft to that! I have no desire to feel unwell and will accept only a little tiredness.

I have to wait now to hear from the Chemo Guy who will arrange Herceptin infusions and liaise with my double surgeons to arrange my double surgery.

I’ve been taking Tamoxifen now for about a month. It’s not causing any major problems…I am getting the predicted hot flushes, about four or five a day lasting no more than five minutes each. They are very strange as the heat builds up inside me and literally seems to make me boil. I also have painful knee joints which seize up if I sit still for too long. I shall be taking this drug until I’ve had my hysterectomy when I will be switched to a different hormone treatment for five years.

The chemotherapy side effects are subsiding…hooray!

Up until a couple of weeks ago my nails felt very wobbly and were pulling away from my fingers and I thought I was going to lose some but now they feel much better. They are still black and blue and yucky looking but as I always wear polish, who’s to know?!

I don’t know when my taste buds returned to normal function I was simply aware one day that they had. It’s very unpleasant when everything tastes of soap and feels creamy.

My bones no longer ache, apart from Tamoxifen knees…that stopped about a month ago.

My hair is getting longer as I type…I just can’t see it.

I can’t remember the last time I felt dizzy…it’s big relief as it often made me feel unsafe.

Digestive matters, in and out, are much improved to the extent of being pretty much gone.

So, another corner turned.

6 Comments to “Cornering…”

  1. Well done! each corner turned is another step closer to being well again xx

  2. They may feel like baby steps, but you’re making giant strides, Yasmin. Big hugs to you, and a snoozle from Ross to keep you going. xx

  3. Coming along very nicely, by the sounds of it. Keep us posted!

  4. How’re things going now Yasmin? Hope you’re continuing to go from strength to strength. Tthere are a lot of us out here thinking about you, sending you positive thoughts and wanting the very best for you.

Leave a comment