First of the year and currently reading…

Pondered the problem of children not reading whole books at school anymore and how will they ever realise the delights of Dickens?

Lit the fire basket for the first time this year. I didn’t take a photograph so this is one from last year.

It looked much the same…

I am currently reading Scott’s Journal from his last expedition, edited by Max Jones. I have often tried to read about the final expedition but have never been able to follow it with any enthusiasm in accounts I’ve picked up before. I should really have known Scott’s own account would be the best. The additional notes and appendices add to the whole.  I’m tempted now to read The Last Great Quest: Captain Scott’s Antarctic Sacrifice by Max Jones…along with the other dozen or so titles waiting to be read. I have Apsley Cherry-Garrard’s The Worst Journey in the World, his account of Scott’s expedition and am looking forward to that now. I also have “Captain Scott” – Ranulph Fiennes, so I shall be having rather an Antarctic-fest.

Leave a Reply

