Kindess of neighbours

Our neighbours,  Janet and George are lovely people. A while ago they replaced their bird table and gave us their old one. Then, when they bought themselves a smaller garden table and chairs they gave us their larger ones. Janet used to give Ralph the bone from their Sunday roast as all their dog Liza did was bury it, but this had to stop when Ralph started having dietary mishaps (eek). And today, Janet brought round a new brass number for our new front door. It was such a lovely thing to do, I felt myself filling up!

I lived in the same building in Hove for eight years and only knew my immediate neighbour and the couple who had lived on the top floor for over fifty years. Here, I know all my neighbours and I know if I needed any help they’d do whatever they could and I would do anything which would help them. I like that. That’s our Big Society. Small though ours is, its effect is mighty big.

Leave a Reply

