Radiotherapy planning and yet more surgery…

I have a CT Scan next week in preparation for my radiotherapy. (Golly, radiotherapy, another new experience headed my way)

I’ve been told I’ll have 15 sessions over three weeks (but these things have a habit of changing) and then I shall be back in hospital for a hysterectomy. Yep…more surgery. I feel a little steamrollered but hey!

I knew I would need one some day soon due to a large fibroid but the gynaecologist would like me have it as soon as possible so he can remove my ovaries as I am now slightly more at risk of developing ovarian cancer and also to stop the production of estrogen as my cancer is ER+, which means it feeds on the stuff.

Then, I shall have the second mastectomy and reconstruction.

Jeez…it seems like an awful lot but when it’s all done I shall be a new woman!
I’m hoping all will be sorted by next summer and I can put everything behind me and get back to some sort of normality.

I have a wonderful husband who has been working so hard and looking after me and I can’t wait to reverse that.

One Comment to “Radiotherapy planning and yet more surgery…”

  1. My word, it certainly is all-go! Roll on summer 2013.

Leave a Reply

