It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Look what I’ve got!

fillet

I collected my prosthesis from the Breast Clinic.
(Again, mine for free…how blooming marvellous is the NHS?)
It’s a “partial”. I place it in my bra over my real breast to make it the same size as my new Becker Boob.
I love it, it’s strangely comforting. I shall probably miss it once I’ve had surgery to even me up.

I had my first meltdown moment on Monday after reading family posts about Christmas preparations…all I could think was I WANT A CHRISTMAS! So, I did something about it. Before TB went swimming he brought the decorations down from the attic and while he was out I filled the house with Christmas.

tree

I feel great again, now.

I’ve had my CT Scan to mark the target for my radiotherapy.
I now have two full-stop sized tattoos to make sure the target and only the target is treated. Two little tiny dots which were a bit of an ouch to have done. How do people have more? Why do people have more?

The logistics of the radiotherapy no longer seem daunting. Fifteen daily treatments were going to be tricky to attend but I’m going to use hospital transport…another big thank you to the NHS.

4 Comments to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!”

  1. What a beautiful tree!

    RE: Tattoos….I have eight. I plan on more, because I think when done properly they’re works of art in their own right. I probably wouldn’t think full stops were that creative though. ;)

  2. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! :D

  3. Well, full stops have a kind of satisfying fullness to them. Stop – full stop. That kind of thing. Like you’re having no nonsense of any kind. I kinda like that. 8-) I also love your tree.

    Too right you want Christmas, and we’re all cheering you on to enjoy every single minute of it. 15 days of radiotherapy will be over in a blink or two.

    I attended regular radiotherapy sessions with a friend who had treatment following removal of a brain tumour, and the radiotherapists thought we were hilarious – and I have to say, I hadn’t expected we could laugh so much in such circumstances, but truth was that we did. And the time passed. And six years on, she’s doing so well, even though her form of cancer was rare and malignant. You remind me a lot of her. You have that same twinkle in your eye, and that same sense of grit and determination. Have you been bra shopping yet?

  4. Hoping your Christmas preparations are coming along nicely, Yasmin. God, it’s good to be alive.

Leave a Reply

