Bring me back to life…

Grow Hair!See how it grows? Hooray!

This morning  I had my final Herceptin treatment. I’ve had eighteen…fourteen of them at home! So that’s me sorted. Letrozole for a further four years and Alendronic Acid with calcium and vitamin D for ever more due to losing bone density (thanks to chemo and the banishing of estrogen) and taking exceptional care of my left arm due to having no axillary lymph nodes.

I know there are horror stories and bad experiences but I’ve had incredible treatment throughout, which would have been beyond my means so thank god for the NHS. Without exception every nurse, doctor, consultant, surgeon, “ographer” and “ologist” has been patient, understanding and reassuring.

I’ve seen equipment I never knew existed. I’ve had treatments I never knew were possible. I am in awe of my surgeon. I’ve been wheeled about by cheerful porters who knew the hospital like the back of their hands. I’ve been served coffee by people who have lifted my mood with a mere touch of my shoulder. I’ve been ferried to and from radiotherapy by volunteer drivers through some dire weather.

Lord knows what the cost of this has been. (I know my Herceptin alone cost £22K). I’ve paid tax and National Insurance for 30 years but I’m sure I’ve had more than my share back.

I have a friend in the US who has struggled to pay for her cancer treatment and was unable to fund the treatment she really wanted. There but for the grace of god…

So, thank you NHS…from the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU

A special thank you to Melissa who may never read this but she made the
Herceptin sessions girly, gossipy and fun!

And thank you to everyone on the Macmillan forums…no question too daft, eh?

Thank you to all who have followed my drivel, it helps knowing someone is reading it.

And thank you, thank you, thank you TB, for holding my hand, shaving my head, sticking needles in me, bringing me lunch, bringing me knitting, bringing me back to reality, collecting wigs, collecting prescriptions, being with me at every appointment, being with me whenever I woke, being with me always. Your strength, your devotion, your belief in me, your faith in medicine, your gorgeous bum have all made this bag of bollox bearable.

And my god, it’s been worth it.

2014? Hell, yes…bring it on…I’ve kicked cancer’s butt!

4 Comments to “Bring me back to life…”

  1. You have made me cry Rebecca, you have been so brave, and at last you are getting there. I can’t imagine what you have been through, and how lovely of you to praise the NHS, where many others rubbish it. Good luck in the future, and I hope some really nice things happen for you. A very Happy New Year from Denise xx

  2. Thank you for sharing this journey with us, you’ve been so brave in the face of such a lot of treatment and so full of fun and life throughout. I’m sure you’ve had your moments, but your positivity has shone through. It’s been wonderful to see your triumphs, and we’ve all held our breath and prayed for you through the worst bits.

    I hope you continue to go from strength to strength with the man you love by your side. All the very best for the New Year ….. and is that really all your own hair … WOW…. I’m totally jealous!

  3. You’re a beautiful human being sweetheart.
    Much love to you X

  4. It’s so good to read your latest blog post. Thank you, for sharing what has been a painful and challenging journey, and inspiring all of us who’ve followed your progress. Bloody well done for taking life by the neck and shaking it until its teeth ratttled! You’re a very special individual – and your hair is looking great!!

    Big hugs ((biiiig hug))

Leave a Reply

